HSOT Game 18: DeSoto, Texas 46, Hampton, Va. 34 (Summit semifinal)

Hampton, Va., point guard Anthony “Cat” Barber may have won the scoring battle against his soon-to-be ACC opponent, DeSoto, Texas’ Matt Jones, 19-18, but it was Jones’ Eagles who came away victorious, 46-34, in the Summit Hospitality bracket of the HighSchoolOT.com Holiday Invitational Friday night.

DeSoto (18-1) led 31-18 after three quarters and 34-18 early in the final period before Hampton closed the margin to within six. The Eagles hit 13-of-15 free throws in the contest to provide the final margin.

“We’re very happy to be playing in the championship tomorrow,” DeSoto coach Chris Dyer said. “This is a very, very elite field and has to be one of the top tournaments in America. We’re just very happy and grateful to even be invited.”

DeSoto advances to Saturday night’s Summit championship game against Metuchen, N.J. St. Joseph; the Falcons (4-1) defeated Raleigh Broughton earlier in the day at Broughton’s historic Holliday Gymnasium.

The Eagles were led by Jones’ 18 points; he was aided by 12 points from Takedrick Brown and 10 from Terry Maston. Devin Wyatt didn’t score for DeSoto, but he challenged the HSOT record of blocked shots in a game (14) by finishing with 12.

Barber scored all but 15 of his team’s points; Jordan Baker added 6 for the Crabbers, who’ll face Broughton at 4 p.m. Saturday in the Summit third-place game.

“I want to congratulate DeSoto on a very well-played defensive game,” Hampton coach Walter Brower Sr. said. “We got a little flat and I think it cost us in the long run.”

End 1Q: Hampton 9, DeSoto 7

Halftime: DeSoto 17, Hampton 15: DeSoto led by 7 points from Duke recruit Matt Jones and 6 from Takedrick Brown; Hampton led by 10 points from N.C. State recruit Anthony “Cat” Barber

End 3Q: DeSoto 31, Hampton 18

Final: DeSoto 46, Hampton 34

Hampton 9   6   3   16 –  34

DeSoto   7  10  14  15  –  46

Hampton: Anthony Barber 19, Jordan Baker 6, Sammie Royal 4, Cyonte Melvin 3, Da’Quin Moore 2.

DeSoto: Matt Jones 18, Takedrick Brown 12, Terry Maston 10, Julian Green 4, Antwon Portley 2.

Leave a Reply